Is There a Recipe for a Cool Whip Substitute?

4 Feb
Fear not; there are many alternatives to Cool Whip.

Fear not; there are many alternatives to Cool Whip.

You guys know how much I hate Cool Whip, right?  So, just don’t buy it.  And before you say anything, I can hear some of you now wanting to know what else you can use to top your pies or your cakes.  As usual, I’ve got your backs; I’m here to help.  Over the past couple of weeks I’ve gotten some emails and read some comments left on some of the cooking forums asking about making whipped cream from scratch, looking for an alternative to whipped cream because someone in their family doesn’t like it (?!) and even how to make a Cool Whip substitute (?!)  It was that last one that made me realize that I’d better get to work.  If folks are looking for Cool Whip substitutes, I’m not going to let them down.

So here, for your edification, I present a Compendium of Creamy Homemade Dessert Toppings.  All are made from normal, everyday ingredients and none of them contain any partially hydrogenated anything.

  1. Whipped Cream Softly whipped cream (or, to use the French term, creme chantilly)is a wonderful topping to spoon on top of some fresh berries.  Since it’s soft, it will sort of slowly sink into the berries.  Cream whipped to medium-to-firm peaks is your best Cool Whip substitute, because you can do that perky little dollop on top so that your pie looks like the pie in the Cool Whip commercials.  Here’s how you do it by hand:  Take some cold heavy cream (as opposed to heavy cold cream–we’re not removing make up) and put it in a metal bowl.  Start whisking.  You don’t have to whisk it crazy-fast or anything, just fast enough that you get some air incorporated.  Once the cream has thickened a bit, add in some sugar (superfine is nice because it dissolves quickly), a pinch of salt and a wee splash of flavoring.  Taste, and add a little more sugar if you need to.  Whisk until the cream is at the perfect thickness for what you want to do with it.    As you can see, whipped cream isn’t really a recipe.  It’s more of a technique.  It’s more about keeping things cold and whisking well and less about how many teaspoons of sugar you are using.  Here’s a tip for getting really dense, creamy whipped cream.  I don’t think that many people know about this secret, so come a little closer.  If you whip your cream in the food processor, it will be dense and smooth and creamy. You have to be careful, because the food processor is pretty harsh, and you could end up with butter if you don’t pay close attention.  I’m serious, though, guys–cream whipped in a food processor or with an immersion blender has a dense texture that you just can’t get when whipping by hand or with a hand or stand mixer.
  2. Whipped Creme Fraiche–This is some seriously good stuff, folks.  While true creme fraiche is pretty pricey, a very reasonable facsimile can easily be made at home.  Stir buttermilk and heavy cream together.  For every 1 cup of cream, you’ll need 1 TBSP of buttermilk.  We used to make a 12 quart recipe at the restaurants, so this formula scales up very easily.  Okay, so you just stir them together and let it sit out at room temperature, covered, until thickened.  This can take anywhere from 12 to 36 hours, depending on how much you’re making and on the temperature in your kitchen, so be patient.  Once your cream has thickened, refrigerate until cold.  The chilled creme fraiche will be pretty thick–almost like soft-serve ice cream.  Don’t worry, though.  You can whip it just like cream.  When you start whisking, it will thin out and then start to thicken again.  Use the same technique that you used for making whipped cream.  The tang of the creme fraiche is a nice complement to very sweet dishes and is a little more of an adult flavor.
  3. Italian Meringue–This kind of topping won’t be as rich as whipped cream or whipped creme fraiche, but it is fat free!  Yay for you guys who are looking for a fat-free topping to counteract all the fat in the big old American Hummer Pie you’re putting it on!  That’s kind of like ordering the Monster Thickburger, large fries and a Diet Coke, but what do I know?  Back to the meringue:  take a cup of sugar and put it in a pot with a little water, just enough to get it wet.  Heat and stir to dissolve the sugar, and then bring to a boil.  Put the lid on and let it boil for a couple of minutes to wash any sugar crystals off the sides of the pan.  Bring the sugar syrup up to 245 degrees, F.  While the sugar is coming to temperature, whip 5 egg whites together with a pinch of salt and either a teaspoon of lemon juice or 1/4 teaspoon of cream of tartar.  Whip the whites to medium peaks.  With the mixer on low, slowly and carefully pour the sugar syrup in a thin stream down the inside of the bowl.  Once you’ve added all the syrup, increase the speed to medium-high and whip until the whites are stiff and glossy and cool.  Flavor it with some vanilla or mint or lemon or any kind of extract.  At the restaurant, we used to pipe little dollops of Italian meringue on parchment and store them in the walk-in freezer.  (They don’t get hard in the freezer, they just keep nicely).  Then, when it was time to plate, we’d bring out a frozen dollop and hit it with a torch to brown it.  You don’t have to brown this meringue, though.  It’s cooked!
  4. Whipped Sour Cream–This is an easy topping with a slight tang.  Whip cold, heavy cream to medium peaks, and then add an equal amount of sour cream.  Sweeten, salt and flavor as desired.  Don’t think that you can mix the sour cream and the cream together and then whip them.  It doesn’t work.  Trust me; I know.  Make sure you bring your cream to medium peaks before adding the sour cream.
  5. Silken Tofu Whipped Topping–This one is for you lactose intolerant type folks out there.  I will not let you be reduced to using Cool Whip.  Try this instead. In a food processor or blender, mix together a package of firm tofu (10.5 oz.), 2 TBSP sugar/brown sugar/agave nectar/what have you, a pinch of salt, and a wee splash of vanilla and lemon juice.  Blend or process until smooth.  If it’s too thick, thin with a little soymilk and blend again.  If you want it sweeter, add another TBSP or two of sweetener.
  6. Sour Cream Topping–This one might be my favorite.  It’s not whipped and poofy.  This this the topping that my mom bakes on top of my chocolate cheese birthday pie–vanilla wafer crust, cheesecake, ganache, sour cream topping.  I know, right?!–and I love it.  All you do is add 1/3 cup of sugar and 1 1/2 tsp vanilla per cup of sour cream.  Stir in a pinch of salt, and that’s pretty much it.  You pour this on top of a just-out-of-the-oven cheese cake or a hot chocolate pie, put it in the oven for 5 minutes at 300 degrees, F, let cool, and you’ve got a fantastic tangy-sweet semi-set topping that, well, it’s just the best.  And that’s why I saved it for last.

Some other ideas for you:  try using brown sugar, honey or maple syrup in place of the sugar when whipping cream or creme fraiche or even your tofu.  Also, there’s no rule against adding citrus zest or cinnamon or espresso powder.  Give some thought to what you’ll be putting your topping on and use complementary flavors.  Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with just using a little vanilla.  Sometimes, less is more.

35 Responses to “Is There a Recipe for a Cool Whip Substitute?”

  1. Drew Kime February 4, 2009 at 5:26 pm #

    Substitute for Cool Whip? Seriously? Man, that makes my brain hurt just thinking about it. Let’s come up with a substitute for margarine while we’re at it. Ooh, and what can we use in place of Sweet ‘N Low? Geez, some people.

  2. Chris February 4, 2009 at 5:38 pm #

    I cannot imagine why anyone would need a Cool Whip substitute; it’s called whipped cream, people. But those are certainly some creative and informative techniques. I have had an obsession with all kinds of meringue-like things every since I discovered Canele’s monster meringues in Singapore. And thanks for the secret, I’ll definitely try whipping in my sad, 1-cup food processor.

    As a side note, the French pastry chef I met in Singapore would only use this boxed whipping cream called Creme Excellence. Sounds fancy, no? She imported it from France and paid out the nose for it, but refused to use anything else. Clearly there’s a difference between French and American whipped topping sensibilities.

  3. Daily Spud February 4, 2009 at 5:54 pm #

    We don’t have cool whip but we do have equivalents – cream in a spray can and the like. I steer clear (but you knew that already). Meanwhile, I am liking the sound of that sour cream topping…

  4. katie February 4, 2009 at 6:09 pm #

    Thanks for visiting my site! I love your site. I really want to get into pastry am considering going to culinary school but not sure i can afford it. Any advice on how to get into cake decorating and pastry making? besides reading your blog of course! 🙂

  5. onlinepastrychef February 4, 2009 at 7:17 pm #

    @Drew and Chris: I know, right?! The first version of the post said “hel-LO! It’s called whipped cream” But then I decided it sounded mean and changed it 🙂 And Chris, if it makes you feel any better, you can tell yourself that whipped cream is very rich and you don’t need more than a little at a time! Boxed French whipping cream? I could get behind that!

    @DS: Do try that sour cream topping. It is really scarily good, especially considering how easy it is to make

    @katie I thought I saw you on twitter saying you were thinking about culinary school. Here are two pages from my site to look at. They should give you a little idea of what culinary school was like for me and what a pastry chef’s day is really like: http://www.pastrychefonline.com/Culinary_School.html
    http://www.pastrychefonline.com/A_Pastry_Chef_Day.html

    I will be happy to answer any other specific questions you might have. Just email me at onlinepastrychef [at] yahoo [dot] com

  6. ellaella February 4, 2009 at 9:45 pm #

    Oh, a fellow hater of that chemical cocktail we call Cool Whip! I won’t even start…

    Wonderful suggestions. Shirley Corriher has a stabiized whipped cream in Cookwise that’s great in hot weather. No need to buy a tub of that white stuff, ever.

  7. Michaela February 10, 2009 at 4:36 am #

    Just discovered your blog and so much useful info, THANKS! I’m going to need some time to digest all this. I wish people could be so clear and helpful all the time.

    And i’m not just saying this cos i’m going to ask you a question in the next breath ;))

    I dont usually dress my cakes, but on the occasions that i need to (birthdays), what would be a good frosting to use that would give me a smooth and firm enough surface to pipe words on, APART from buttercream which i dont like. I like the lightness of whipped cream, but it’s not firm nor smooth enough. (btw, if you can share how to make a stabilised whipped cream, i would appreciate it! I usually just toss in some icing sugar, read somewhere that it helps to prevent weeping).I don’t dress my cakes, partly because i cant think of what to use aside from buttercream.

  8. Lee February 12, 2009 at 3:52 pm #

    I do not eat plastic food … I make whipped cream when I want whipped cream. When I use it as icing or cake filling, I stabilize it whipping in a bit of plain gelatin. I soften 1 tsp. of plain gelatin in a bit of warm water, then gently blend it into the cream with the sugar. The cream stays firm and light as long as the cake or cream puffs last in our home. BTW, I love the idea of the whipped tofu – must try that one soon for my vegan friends.

  9. carol June 16, 2009 at 5:12 pm #

    Just what I was looking for and found a great deal of useful information also. Thanks! Never been fond of plastic or margarine for that matter. BTW, remember a product called Jello 1-2-3? Didn’t that include a type of Cool Whip? Like creating something similar with whipping cream myself, actually has flavor.

    • onlinepastrychef June 16, 2009 at 5:37 pm #

      Hi, Carol! So glad I could help. I do remember Jello 1-2-3! Blast from the past. I thought it was so cool when I was a kid, but I’m with you, let’s just keep it natural! 🙂

  10. Myrrh C. June 17, 2009 at 1:57 pm #

    Making blueberry cheesecake, so the sour cream topping sounds like the perfect sub (it was supposed to be cool whip + 1/4 sour cream). Thanks! 🙂

    • onlinepastrychef June 17, 2009 at 2:00 pm #

      Hey, Myrrh C. 🙂 Glad you found me and that I was able to save you from the woe of the Cool Whip topping. I will say that the sour cream topping is one of my favorites. Bet it will be great with your cheesecake! What I like about the sour cream one is you can even just stir some brown sugar into sour cream, let the sugar crystals dissolve, stir again and then spoon it over berries w/ no baking required. Hooray! 😀

  11. Leigh (Modern Mommy) July 3, 2009 at 1:10 pm #

    Thank you thank you thank you!! I’m actually ALLERGIC to Cool Whip. Some sort of chemical in it makes me vomit. But my husband loves it, and I wanted something lighter than icing and yummy to put on a flag cake for this weekend. Sour cream topping = LOVE. 🙂

    • onlinepastrychef July 3, 2009 at 2:17 pm #

      So glad you found what you were looking for, Leigh! Happy 4th to you. Personally, I’d be glad to be allergic to Cool Whip. That stuff is gross. 😉

  12. Kyra July 11, 2009 at 3:35 am #

    Hello. I am so glad I found your blog. For the past 2 months I have been on a crusade trying to find a good natural substitute to vegetable whipping cream. I tried whipping heavy cream following the packaging instructions. It turned into a heavier cream, extremely soft peaks, would not hold, not fluffy at all whipped cream. I even made creme fraiche and tried to whip that. Same results… I tried whipping longer… I got homemade butter… I remember the times when natural whipped cream was cheap and available to buy in all European pastry shops. Nowadays it seems impossible to find it… At least where I live… It was fluffy and looked just like its vegetable fat based counterpart. Can you post step by step instructions on how to get that light and fluffy whipped cream out of natural, widely available products such as heavy cream or sour cream? I’ve wrecked dozen of batches with not one acceptable result. Please help!

    • onlinepastrychef July 11, 2009 at 9:49 am #

      Hi, Kyra–I’m glad you found me, too. I can help–I’ll post a good primer in the next week or two that should help. In the meantime, here’s an excellent step-by-step from Joe Pastry: http://joepastry.web.aplus.net/index.php?cat=138

      • Kyra July 11, 2009 at 4:41 pm #

        Thank you very much. I’ll be looking out for your primer. I also read the tutorial you suggested. It seems to me I am following all the right steps…. Still my results are not acceptable. I don’t know what I am doing wrong… I am not giving up though…:)

  13. Carol October 17, 2009 at 10:05 pm #

    Thanks, Jenni, for your Compendium of Creamy Homemade Dessert Toppings! Lots of new fun toppings to try.

    I found your blog on a Google search for whether I could substitute whipped cream (I’m ashamed to say I was thinking of RediWhip) for the Cool Whip in the Turtle Pumpkin Pie recipe by Jello and Cool Whip (http://www.kraftfoods.com/kf/recipes/turtle-pumpkin-pie-106961.aspx).

    Since some of the whip is blended with the pumpkin and pudding mix, what do you recommend for that? And what do you recommend (the same or a different type?) for the topping?

    Thanks so much… now I’m going to poke around the rest of your blog!

    Carol

    • onlinepastrychef November 4, 2009 at 5:57 pm #

      Hi, Carol. I hope I answered you way before now! If I didn’t, I apologize for letting you slip through the cracks. 😳 I’d suggest going w/gelatin-stabilized whipped cream in place of the Cool Whip. The gelatin will keep the whipped cream from weeping since it’ll tie up the whey in the cream. For topping, I’d go w/straight whipped cream or even whipped creme fraiche. Hope that helps, and again, I apologize if this response is Way Late.

      • Carol November 4, 2009 at 6:09 pm #

        Cute embarrassed face icon! No problem… I figured that stabilized whipped cream might be the solution, but hadn’t gotten around to testing it. Now that you’ve confirmed it, I will.

        In the meantime, I tried a modification of the recipe I mentioned above by mixing 2 small pkgs of French Vanilla pudding with a 15 oz can of pureed pumpkin. It ended up too thick, so I added enough milk to make it work for a parfait with whipped cream (yikes! RediWip!) layers. Worked for me.

        Next project is to create a pumpkin pie with the stabilized whip cream — and make my own pudding mix instead of buying it.

        Do you happen to have a pudding recipe hanging around? 😉

      • onlinepastrychef November 4, 2009 at 8:28 pm #

        Good idea. Pudding from scratch is really quite easy to make: dairy, eggs/yolks, sugar, salt, vanilla/bean, starch. Do a search for “vanilla pastry cream,” and I’m sure you’ll get a bajilliion hits. Pastry cream is the standard “pudding” of the French pastry kitchen, used for everything from filling eclairs to Napoleons to cream puffs. Be not intimidated by the fancy French name, though–it’s just vaniller puddin’! 😀

      • Carol November 4, 2009 at 8:37 pm #

        You are the BEST! Yeah, I definitely would have slowly backed away if I’d seen “vanilla pastry cream”. Thanks for the “translation”.

        Now my mouth is watering. LOL!

        Carol

      • onlinepastrychef November 4, 2009 at 8:41 pm #

        I live to serve:)  Enjoy the puddin’!

  14. Rachel November 4, 2009 at 5:33 pm #

    Just wondering, all those suggestions sound great but can you really use them in a pudding pie, or is packaged pudding taboo also? I just need a quick desert in a graham cracker crust. Please help

    • onlinepastrychef November 4, 2009 at 5:55 pm #

      Hi Rachel. Good question. For myself, I’d rather make my own pudding rather than use a mix pudding or instant pudding. But, that’s just me. If you want to use packaged pudding to make a quick dessert, my suggestion, if you don’t want to use Cool Whip to lighten it (which you shouldn’t, right?!) is to use stabilized whipped cream. Quickly whisk in the hot gelatin/cream mixture when you reach soft/medium-soft peaks. Continue whisking until medium peaks, and then gently fold the whipped cream into the pudding. I’m not sure what texture you’re going for, but I’d put it at 1 part whipped cream to 2 parts pudding. You can always adjust from there. Hope that helps:)

  15. Sandy April 26, 2010 at 10:05 am #

    I love this website. Thank You.
    Sandy

    • onlinepastrychef April 26, 2010 at 10:12 am #

      Thank you, Sandy! I appreciate your reading very much. 🙂

  16. Maureen May 19, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    I really appreciate your comments. I assumed that whipped cream could be substituted for the chemical stuff, but I didn’t think about all of those other natural alternatives. I think that the secret to the high calories is to eat normal portions. If people piled on whipped cream like they pile on cool whip, yes, you’re adding a lot of calories, but you get a lot of flavor from sweetened whipped cream and because of the fat, you feel satiated. You don’t have to load it on.
    Thank you so much.

    • onlinepastrychef May 19, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

      Absolutely! I am here to help–enjoy your Real Food! 🙂

  17. Angelynn August 15, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

    I found this on another website:

    http://www.familyoven.com/offsite?r_id=138549&u=http://www.recipezaar.com/81374. Hope it helps.

    • onlinepastrychef August 15, 2010 at 6:12 pm #

      Interesting, and great for Cool Whip addicts, I guess–I’m just trying to keep oil out of my toppings. And, for those who are vegetarians, it’s not vegetarian because of the gelatin. Cool though–at least it doesn’t contain HFCS or transfats!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. There’s Something Here for Everyone (even if I didn’t plan it that way) « Pastry Methods and Techniques - March 10, 2009

    […] to Cool Whip Do people really have to search for that?  I guess so.  If we are to believe that picture up there, Cool Whip is sold as a food group unto […]

  2. The Great Search Term Round Up, Episode 1(a) « Pastry Methods and Techniques - April 28, 2009

    […] ask this, or variations of this–you’d be surprised.  A while ago, I told you about sweetened, whipped tofu.  Here’s a recipe that attempts a stab at Cool Whip consistency.  Shudder.  But, if […]

  3. Whipped Cream - Yummy In My Tummy - September 6, 2009

    […] Instead of “Cool Whip” and fake whipped cream, how about the real stuff? Here are several alternatives you can […]

  4. The Picket Fence Blog » Blog Archive » Monday is Recipe Day – Raspberry Yogurt Pie - April 12, 2010

    […] Absolutely! Cream whipped to medium-to-firm peaks is your best Cool Whip substitute. Also whipped creme fraiche, Italian meringue, whipped sour cream, silken tofu whipped topping, and sour cream topping are just a few alternatives! For their recipes, visit this great blog: Pastry Methods and Techniques – The “Whys” Behind the “Hows” of Baking. […]

Leave a comment